Skip to content


Harry Cassin
Publisher and Editor

Andy Spalding
Senior Editor

Jessica Tillipman
Senior Editor

Bill Steinman
Senior Editor

Richard L. Cassin
Editor at Large

Elizabeth K. Spahn
Editor Emeritus

Cody Worthington
Contributing Editor

Julie DiMauro
Contributing Editor

Thomas Fox
Contributing Editor

Marc Alain Bohn
Contributing Editor

Bill Waite
Contributing Editor

Shruti J. Shah
Contributing Editor

Russell A. Stamets
Contributing Editor

Richard Bistrong
Contributing Editor

Eric Carlson
Contributing Editor

Counsel to the FCPA Top Ten (March 2019)

What law firms and lawyers represented the companies on our latest Top Ten List in connection with their FCPA resolutions?

Here’s what we found, using only documents of record posted by the DOJ on its website, such as deferred prosecution agreements, certificates of counsel, and plea agreements.

Other firms and lawyers could have been involved in some aspect of the case or in the general representation of the company, at the SEC or another agency, for example, or in a non-U.S. jurisdiction. But for some reason those other lawyers didn’t appear on the documents the DOJ and companies signed to end the enforcement actions.

With that caveat, here are the law firms and lawyers to the current FCPA top ten:

1. Petróleo Brasileiro S.A. – Petrobras (Brazil) 2018: F. Joseph Warin of Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP

2. Telia Company AB (Sweden) 2017: David M. Stuart, Rachel G. Skaistis of Cravath, Swaine, & Moore, LLP and Angela T. Burgess of Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP

3. MTS (Russia) 2019: Gary DiBianco, Mitchell Ettinger, Kara Roseen of Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP and Lanny Breuer, Benjamin Haley of Covington & Burling LLP

4.  Siemens (Germany) 2008: Scott W. Muller, Angela T. Burgess of Davis Polk

5.  VimpelCom (Holland) 2016: Mark Rochon, John E. Davis of Miller & Chevalier Chartered

6. Alstom (France) 2014: Robert D. Luskin, John S. (Jay) Darden of Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP

7. Société Générale S.A. (France) 2018: Keith D. Krakaur, Charles F. Walker of Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP and Sean Hecker of Debevoise & Plimpton LLP

8.  KBR / Halliburton (United States) 2009: Timothy L. Dickinson, William F. Pendergast, Jennifer D. Riddle of Paul Hastings

9.  Teva Pharmaceutical (Israel) 2016: Martin J. Weinstein of Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP and Mark Filip of Kirkland & Ellis LLP

10. Keppel Offshore & Marine Ltd. (Singapore) 2017: Sean Hecker, David A. O’Neil of Debevoise & Plimpton LLP


Richard L. Cassin is editor at large of the FCPA Blog.

Share this post


Comments are closed for this article!